Get yourself a Prokard

Posted on

African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel
African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel
While working in Uganda in 2007/8, I stayed at the Protea Hotel in Kampala for a few months. That is when I was introduced to their rewards program called Prokard. Jees, that means that I have been a member for 6 years now. How time flies!
The main reason for buying the Prokard, was that it allows for a discount on your food bill at the hotel’s restaurant. As I was living off my S&T money, and did not what to spend all of it while in Uganda, getting a 25% to 50% discount on meals really made sense. 
In South Africa, getting access to all the different types of discounts helps to keep the costs down, especially when going on a holiday or a short weekend trip. And you get all of this for an annual fee of  R1350.
Thus far, I had amazing experiences staying at the different Protea and African Pride hotels using my Prokard membership.
African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel
African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel
The first time I stayed at the 5 Star African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel in Cape Town, was when I was invited as a guest for a Smirnoff party event. Thereafter, I booked into the hotel 3 more times because of the level of luxury and service. I used the “buy one night and get one night free” voucher and they upgraded me to a suite for all three stays.
When attending a wedding of a friend in Port Elizabeth,  I stayed at the 4 star Protea Marine Hotel. I used another “buy one night and get one night free” voucher. They also upgraded me to a suite. We had a sea-facing room, offering beautiful views of the Port Elizabeth coastline.
Fire & Ice Melrose Arch Hotel
Fire & Ice Melrose Arch Hotel
Once, while having dinner with my wife, Mishkah, at a restaurant in Melrose Arch, I booked a room at the Protea Fire & Ice Hotel Melrose via my iPad, and we checked into the hotel for the night, after the dinner, using the “stay one night for free” voucher.
African Pride Irene Country Lodge
African Pride Irene Country Lodge
Recently, we went away for a relaxing weekend stay at the 5 star African Pride Irene Country Lodge in Pretoria, using a “buy one night and get one night free” voucher. It was such a wonderful and relaxing experience, and we enjoyed the hospitality and friendly service, and a one hour full body massage at the Camdeboo spa, located on the grounds.
Camdeboo Spa
Camdeboo Spa
If I have to meet people for lunch, I normally suggest meeting at the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice in Melrose Arch, so that I can use my Prokard for the food discounts.
I therefore have made full use of all the Prokard benefits and I strongly recommend you consider becoming a member, as it is well worth the R1350 annual membership fee.
Leave a Reply

