Michael Jackson Vs. Prince: The Forgotten Rivalry

Posted on

James Brown, Michael Jackson and Prince
James Brown, Michael Jackson and Prince

Earlier this week, I saw many online articles and Facebook posts of people remembering Michael Jackson.  Besides my fond memories of his music and his talent, I also remembered the perceived rivalry between Michael Jackson and Prince. This inspired me to search for any articles about it.

I found this MTV article, which was uploaded in 2009, about their rivalry – click here to read.

Thereafter, I strongly recommend you watch the YouTube video below, of Michael being invited on to the stage at a James Brown concert, recorded in 1983. It shows Michael Jackson asking James Brown to also invite Prince on to the stage.  This amazing piece of video history depicts the level of talent and showmanship that I feel is lacking in today’s pop icons.

Leave a Reply

