White Collar Boxing

Posted on Updated on

White collar boxing
White collar boxing

Last Wednesday, I filmed a boxing event for a new web series that Julio Garcia and I are working on, called “White Collar Boxing All Access.”
The White Collar boxing event organiser, Stephane Castle, describes it as the social arm of boxing. Indoor Cricket is the social arm of cricket, but boxing up until now, only had the amateur and professional options, and keep in mind that the amateur option is usually done by boxers working towards starting a professional career.

White Collar Boxing
White Collar Boxing

Castle, who himself was a professional boxer and is currently a trainer and a promoter, started these White Collar Boxing events to offer ordinary boxing loving fans the opportunity to live out their boxing dreams by getting into a boxing ring with protective head gear, gloves, referee and standby paramedics and BOX.

White Collar Boxing
White Collar Boxing

I can’t honestly say that I am a big boxing fan myself, but after spending the day with Stephane Castle, watching professional boxers sparring early that day, and later seeing the white collar boxers, boxing their hearts out, I am definitely much more interested in the sport and I have loads more respect for anybody brave enough to step into a boxing ring.

White Collar Boxing
White Collar Boxing

As I mentioned in the last paragraph, while filming for the web series we are working on, I got to see professional boxers sparring for their up coming bouts. Being so close to the ring and seeing and hearing them landing big punches, is a flipping amazing experience.  Keep in mind that both boxers in the ring had protective head gear on. I can but just imagine how those punches landing would sting if they did not have their proactive head gear on.

White Collar Boxing
White Collar Boxing

Later that day, when watching the white collar boxers, I could easily see the difference in the skill levels displayed in the boxing ring between them and the professionals. The enjoyment factor however, was the same for me. Seeing how both types of boxers go about training also impressed me to the point where I would seriously consider doing boxing training myself. No, not to take part in the white collar boxing events, I am too much of a scary cat to do that, but just for the fitness aspect of things.

If you want to see White Collar Boxing All Access web series, keep you on www.webserieschannel.co.za

Leave a Reply

