How I fell in love with Cigars

Posted on Updated on

charity-opusx-cigar
charity-opusx-cigar

Sometime back in 2006, I discovered the pleasure of smoking cigars. I can’t remember the exact moment, but I do remember the fear I felt walking into my first of two cigars stores, namely JJ Cale in Sandton City and Club Macanudo in Nelson Mandela Square. The sales staff at JJ Cale were not helpful. They did not seem too interested in me when I asked for their help in getting me started with cigars.

Club Macanudo, on Nelson Mandela Square
Club Macanudo, on Nelson Mandela Square

At Club Macanudo, on Nelson Mandela Square, the lady was very helpful. She took me through their large humidor and explained why cigars needed to be kept in it to stay fresh. (I will deal with this more in more depth in future blog post).

Cigar tube and cutter
Cigar tube and cutter

She then took me through the different types of cigar cutters and the different types of devices used to light cigars, which were cedar wood matches and butane torch lighters.

Colibri
Colibri

The price range for cigar cutters and butane torch lighters varies from the cheaper beginner ones to the more expensive ones. My advice is not to go cheap, as the more expensive cigars cutters and butane torch lighters are the better ones (and I will deal with this in more depth in a future blog post).

I ended up purchasing a cheap butane torch lighter and the lovely lady gave me one of their plastic cigars cutters for free – Bless her!

Backwoods Honey cigars
Backwoods Honey cigars

She recommended that I buy the flavoured, machine rolled Backwoods Honey cigars as they are a mild smoke, and if after smoking them I then decided that cigars were not for me, I would have not wasted a large sum on money.

After spending about an hour with this lovely and helpful lady, off I went feeling very excited about making time available to go and experience my first cigar smoke, which I thoroughly enjoyed.

I was hooked, and like everything else that I am truly interested in, I dove deep into cigars learning as much as I could and ended up starting a business called Cigar Connoisseurs. I hosted many corporate and private cigar tastings in and around Johannesburg.

Look out for future blog posts about cigars, where I hope you will find my insight useful.

Leave a Reply

