Holiday Swap KZN media launch

Posted on Updated on

Holiday Swap contestants
Holiday Swap contestants

Last Thursday, a new SABC1 reality TV show called “Holiday Swap KZN” had its media launch at the Balalaika Hotel in Sandton. This Advertising Funded Programme (AFP) was produced by Launch Factory, a company that specializes in creating branded television content for clients around Africa..

“Holiday Swap KZN” was directed by South Africa’s most well respected reality series director Warren Bleksley. You may recognize Warren’s name as he also directed big reality shows like Elite Ops, Up & Under, two seasons of Survivor SA, season 6 of Tropika Island of Treasure, etc. I was one of lucky crew members employed to work on this exciting and creative reality show concept.

Series Director Warren Bleksley and I
Series Director Warren Bleksley and I

I had two responsibilities working on this project – my first was as a contestant chaparone and the second was as video editor. It is not the norm for a video editor to be on set, so when I am lucky to find myself on set, I make sure to soak up every second of it. On set I was responsible for looking after 3 groups of contestant teams. This included me driving people from Johannesburg to Jozini, Jozini to Johannesburg, Johannesburg to Durban, Durban to the Drakensberg.

Team Flawless
Team Flawless

The media launch event was a fun-filled affair, getting to see all these contestants once again and meeting up with the talented Nomzamo Mbatha who presented this show and did a great job as the MC on the night. For more info about the media launch read my wife’s blog post about it here.

Me on location
Me on location

For the next few weeks, I will blog a behind-the-scenes account of what happened on set of this crazy, fun-filled reality show.

Remember to watch Holiday Swap KZN every Monday at 18h00 from the 9th of February 2015 on SABC1.

Leave a Reply

